The 2022 Dance Teacher Awards

The Dance Teacher Awards are back, and you are invited to join us!

On August 18 at The Sheen Center for Thought & Culture in New York City, we’ll be celebrating extraordinary educators for their contributions to our field.

After reviewing hundreds of nominations, the DT Awards selection committee has chosen to honor:

Awardee of Distinction: Kay Mazzo

Awardee of Distinction: Risa Steinberg

Ronald K. Alexander

Antonio Douthit-Boyd and Kirven Douthit-Boyd

Kristine Elliott

Ana Nery Fragoso

Yvonne Gutierrez

Francesca Harper, the artistic director of Ailey II, will be a special guest. In an intimate hour-long conversation, Harper will talk about the legacy that shaped her as a young artist while her mother and mentor, Denise Jefferson, was director at The Ailey School—and shares how she has been paving the path to a bright new future for the next generation of dancers at Ailey II.

Sponsored by:


92NY Dance Education Laboratory

Dance Theatre of Harlem

August 18: 2 pm

Proceeds from the cocktail party fund the Dance Teacher Scholarship at MOVE|NYC|.

Sheen Center for Thought & Culture

18 Bleecker St, New York, NY 10012

*Masks are required